User Roles & Permissions

At this panel you manage the user roles available in the account. When you assign users to a project/board, you will be prompted to choose the role with which to assign the user(s) and this panel defines the roles available.

You must always have a “default” role which cannot be deleted or renamed. Also there cannot be another role with the same name – “default”.

Detailed permission explanations:

Create task: The user will be allowed to create tasks
Block task: The user will be allowed to block tasks and provide a blocking message
Copy task: The user will be allowed to copy/clone tasks
Archive task: The user will be allowed to move tasks to the permanent archive
Delete task: The user will be allowed to delete tasks
Move task: The user will be allowed to move tasks from one column/swimlane to another
Log time: The user will be allowed to record working hours via the log time functionality
Task details: The user will be allowed to open the task details
Edit task details: The user will be allowed to edit all items in the task details view
Subtasks: The user will be allowed to view the subtasks tab of the task details view
    – Create subtask: The user will be allowed to create subtasks
    – Modify subtask: The user will be allowed to modify subtasks
    – Delete subtask: The user will be allowed to delete subtasks
    – Move subtask: The user will be allowed to rearrange the order of subtasks
Comments: The user will be allowed to see the comments tab of the task details view
Add comments: The user will be allowed to add new comments to a task
Delete comments: The user will be allowed to delete task comments
History: The user will be allowed to see the history tab of the task details view
Metrics: The user will be allowed to see the metrics tab of the task details view
Task Links: The user will be allowed to see the links tab of the task details view as well as to add/remove links between tasks
Edit workflow: The user will be allowed to change the board structure (add/remove columns or swimlanes), change the WIP limits, set column policies, etc.
Notifications: The user will be allowed to configure and receive system and email notifications
View archive: The user will be allowed to open the permanent archive and review the tasks which have been archived
Move tasks from/to board: The user will be allowed to move tasks from one board to another
Export: The user will be allowed to export tasks in CSV and XML formats from the board export tool. This permission does not control the export in XLS files which is available with the search panel.
Analytics: The user will be allowed to open and review the charts available for each board.
Access API: The user will be allowed to make API calls to Kanbanize.

This entry was posted in Kanbanize Help Topics on by .

About Bisser Ivanov

Keen on innovation, exploration or simply trying new things. Would that be a technology, new methodology or just cool gadgets. Got almost 2 decades of experience working as Software Engineer, Team Lead, QA/Processes Manager and Managing Director in mid-size and large scale Software Companies: Prosyst, SAP, Software AG.

5 thoughts on “User Roles & Permissions

  1. Dimitar Karaivanov

    Hi Rahul,

    Yes, you can do that. You should go to the notifications menu, then choose to see all notifications. Then filter by deleted tasks and on the top-right there’s an undelete button.

    I hope this helps.

    Reply
    1. Rahul

      Hello Dimitar,

      Thanks for the suggestion, I was able to see most of the tasks there. For my particular case, i think it was different, because the tasks got deleted by mistake when a column was deleted and not by selecting the delete task option. I was not able to see those ones, however, I now know how to get the deleted one’s back.

      Thanks,
      Rahul Maru

      Reply
  2. Alexandru-Adrian LUCACI

    How about editing comments?
    Sometimes there’s just a typo and it would be nice to enable users to edit their comments…

    Reply
  3. Dimitar Karaivanov

    Hey Alexandru, this is something that’s been sitting on our backlog for a while, but we never had the time to tackle it. I hope we’ll be able to do something about it in the near future.

    Cheers!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *